Academic Progress/Academic Performance: All NHCC scholarships require students to meet minimum academic progress standards at the time the award is made. Academic Progress includes:

  • Required minimum cumulative Completion Rate is 67%.
  • Required minimum cumulative GPA is 2.00 (out of a 4.00 standard); some scholarships require a GPA higher than 2.00.

Financial Need:  Financial need is evaluated based on income information provided on the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). 

Freshman/Sophomore: A freshman student has earned 0-30 credits at NHCC or in transfer. A sophomore student has earned 31 or more credits at NHCC or in transfer.

New/Returning: A new student has earned 12 or fewer credits at NHCC. A returning student has earned 13 or more credits at NHCC.


  1. Academic Achievement (up to 20 points)
    Academic Achievement is based upon the student’s cumulative NHCC GPA. Students who are new to NHCC and therefore without a NHCC GPA, will have either their transfer GPA or high school GPA scored. Academic Achievement is scored by multiplying GPA by 5 for a maximum of 20 points (ex: 4.00 GPA x 5 = 20 points). Students who do not meet the minimum academic progress standards of 2.00 cumulative GPA and 67% cumulative Completion Rate are not eligible for a scholarship and will not have their applications evaluated. 
  2. Financial Need (up to 10 points)
    Financial Need is scored based upon the student’s EFC (Expected Family Contribution) from the current year completed FAFSA. The lower the EFC, the higher the need. EFC is scored in the following manner:
    •     EFC is between 0-1000 = 10 points
    •     EFC is between 1001-2000 = 9 points
    •     EFC is between 2001-3000 = 8 points
    •     EFC is between 3001-4000 = 7 points
    •     EFC is between 4001-5000 = 6 points
    •     EFC is between 5001-6000 = 5 points 
    •     EFC is between 6001-7000 = 4 points
    •     EFC is between 7001-8000 = 3 points
    •     EFC is between 8001-9000 = 2 points
    •     EFC is between 9001-10000 = 1 point
    •     EFC 10000 or higher = 0 points

    Each of the four essay are scored up to a maximum of 15 points each by individual readers. The reader scores for each essay are then averaged.  Scholarship readers consider the following:
    •  Essay addresses the question/theme.
    •  Essay is generally free of grammatical errors, etc.
    •  Essay is strong, credible, compelling, provides a good picture of the student’s situation or need, etc.
    The 15 point essay score guidelines generally are:
    •  12-15 points: exceptional achievement, effort, potential, etc.
    •   8-11 points: above average achievement, effort, potential, etc.
    •   4-7 points: average achievement, effort, potential, etc.
    •   0-3 points: below average achievement, effort, potential, etc.
  3. Essay score: Describe your interest in your NHCC and how it relates to your future goals. (up to 15 points)
  4. Essay score: Describe any life experiences that have influenced your personal growth. (up to 15 points)
  5. Essay score: Describe your involvement in activities or in service to others. (up to 15 points)
  6. Essay score: Describe what makes you deserving or a NHCC Foundation Scholarship. (up to 15 points)
  7. Recommendation (up to additional 10 points dependent upon scholarship requirement)